Make your own free website on
Unley banner


Club Details


Ground Locations


Contact Details

Training Times


Our Sponsors

Coach & Captains


Honour Board

Fixtures & Ladders

Gunners Gallery


Club Details


The Unley Cricket Club was formed in 1975/76, and was originally named Unley High Old Scholars Cricket Club, joining the Adelaide Turf Cricket Association. Brian Pettman was both Captain and Coach, with Graham Charlesworth as club treasurer and secretary, both taking on a large workload with the club starting in ATCA Grade 9.

The first season was not an overly successful one for the club, as they won just two games, finishing in 8th position. Charlesworth and Pettman showed their wares with the ball, taking 45 and 38 wickets respectively, Charlesworth averaging 12.8 runs per wicket and Pettman 10.2. The batting let them down however, with the side averaging just 109 runs per first innings.  The foundations had been laid for a big second season.

The 2nd season was a vast improvement, Charlesworth taking over the captaincy and leading the side to 11 minor round victories after losing the first game of the year, taking out the minor premiership. Charlesworth and Pettman were again prevalent, but Brett Stewart led the run scoring with 451 runs, while Ian Brown improved enough to ensure that they were making enough runs for the bowlers to defend. New bowler Bruce Henderson led the wicket taking with 43. The side went on to win the premiership in just its second year of existence. Led by Brett Stewart, who made 46, Unley's 131 proved to be enough runs to win at Kingswood Oval, Brian Pettman taking 5 for 22 off 11.3 overs and Geoff Reeves taking 4 for 30 off 13 overs to ensure that Para Hills were restricted to 113.

The club continued to grow in stature, a B grade side being included in 1978/79, followed by a C grade side at the beginning of the 1980/81 season. At the beginning of the 1981/82 season the club was renamed Unley Cricket Club to encourage a wider range of players to participate. Now there are 8 teams involved, a number that is only expected to grow in the future.

1977 premiership certificate
The premiership certificate from 1977

So since 1975/76 a great deal of change has occurred around the Unley Cricket Club, with 8 senior premierships coming along the way, while 543 individuals have had the honour of representing Unley over 28 seasons.

Ground Locations

The Unley Cricket Club currently uses three different grounds. They are:

1st XI (A2 Grade) &
2nd XI (B2 Grade)
Kingswood Oval Belair Rd, Kingswood
3rd XI (C1 Grade) &
4th XI (C2 Grade)
Unley High School Kitchener St, Netherby

LOA Grade &
LOD Grade

Victoria Park Racecourse East Tce, Adelaide

Under 15s &
Under 13s

Kingswood Oval Belair Rd, Kingswood

Back to the top


President: Warren Ainscough

ph. 0400 926 445

Warren Ainscough

Secretary: Graham Burton

ph. 0400 970 380

Graham Burton

Treasurer: Lisa Muller

General Committee: Dan Ainscough, Paul Dixon, Laurina Heintze, Brett Murphy, Dan Spencer, Andy Weinmann.

Contact Details

Unley Cricket Club, Kingswood Oval, Belair Road, Kingswood.

Postal Address: P.O. Box 8, Unley SA 5061

Back to the top

Training Times

Seniorsbowling in the nets

Tuesdays at 5:30pm
Thursdays at 5:30pm

Meals are available after training on team selection nights.


Wednesdays from 4:00pm



Seniors: $275 per season up-front or $30 per 2-day game.

Juniors: $75 per season.

Back to the top


UCC Major Sponsors

Cremorne Hotel Logo

Club Financial Services Logo

Henley Propeties logo 

Other Sponsors

Olga's Fine Foods logo

Copyright Unley Cricket Club 2003
Website designed by Peter Safralidis: comments and suggestions to

Turf Cricket Association logo